fashion, featured, music, Style

Janet: 8 of her best fashion moments

My brother played an important role in my early childhood. Like any younger sibling, I closely monitored his every move, wondering about his obsession with trainers of a certain brand or taking note of his opinions about the Marvel universe. I also discovered music through what he listened to, which during the early years revolved mostly around Michael Jackson – and a questionable Samantha Fox period. However, the rebel in me couldn’t embrace Michael just like that. Learning Michael had a sister, I became a feminist before I knew what it meant, rooting for the girl. That was the start of my obsession with Janet, Miss Jackson if you’re nasty.

I fell for her amazing moves, her gorgeous voice, and those amazing cat-like-eyes. It was a pretty serious girl crush. While Madonna was my Bible, Janet was my glossy magazine. From her choice of clothes, to how she wore her hair, every style she rocked, fascinated me. Here are my favourite Janet moments, über stylish examples of pop music at its mightiest.

1. The Pleasure Principle

Ever dreamt of moving to the Big Apple and living in an abandoned warehouse? I did, thanks to Flashdance and this video. It’s impossible not to watch in awe as the adidas-clad feet strike some truly awesome moves, this was Janet coming out of her shell, finding her own persona. It’s also proof of her raw talent before she became a household name. 

http://cache.vevo.com/assets/html/embed.html?video=USIV20300168&autoplay=0

2. Rhythm Nation

Nowadays, you would be hard-pressed to find a 23-year-old pop star, fully clothed, head to toe and with shadows hiding half her body on every frame, seriously limiting her exposure. Similarly, you would struggle to find a choreography as effective, sharp and powerfully executed. It’s a flawless pop hit and cemented the launch of Janet Jackson worldwide. It also blew my mind.

3. Love Will Never Do (Without You)

Screen Shot 2015-06-25 at 12.30.33

Herb Ritts was one of those talents we lost way too early, and part of his legacy are videos like Wicked Game, Cherish and Janet’s Love Will Never Do (Without You). Sporting a cropped top, high-waisted jeans, Janet epitomises fashion in the 90s. When I first heard LWND I was convinced it was a duet, but it’s all Janet, showing off a stunning vocal range that makes this single so special. There isn’t a song out there quite like this one.

4. Rolling Stone magazine cover by Patrick Demarchelier

janet.

This iconic image brings us to the entire “Janet.” era, the one that made me record That’s The Way Love Goes  on a VHS tape every time it came on TV, over and over again. I ended up learning every frame, every move, every line uttered by Janet and her troupe. I bought a choker just like hers and copied her make-up. Sidenote: how cute is J-Lo in the video?

5. Got Til it’s Gone

A beautiful video shot by Mark Romanek, it’s stylistically gorgeous, complimenting the trip hop beats of the song flawlessly. Janet’s look is a complete departure from her previous work, and it came after a painful period of self-discovery and acceptance in Janet’s life. The Velvet Rope is a masterpiece of an album and even today, it sounds fantastic. 

6. Everytime by Matthew Rolston

It’s just Janet, with a piece of fabric to cover her modesty and a lot of water. It’s stunning.

7. Scream by Mark Romanek

scream 2

And this is where I get controversial, because, in my opinion, Janet steals the show. The PVC trousers, the spiky jumper, that -insane- coat, it all seems made for her. I will not elaborate on how she wears her hair. Let’s just say I loved it so much I asked a hairdresser to recreate it…with very dodgy results.

8. All Nite (Don’t Stop) by Francis Lawrence

No one has earn her abs more than Janet and she knows how to flaunt them. All Nite gives you goosebumps at the start, with Janet introducing the brilliance of the song: “this is sick”. The tiniest of cropped tops, a sexy game of lights and shadows, and we are gifted with yet another masterful choreography.

Sadly, everything she has done since that “boobgate” incident has been blatantly ignored and blacklisted by the-powers-that-be. A female nipple is still seen as something offensive, Instagram and Facebook urging everyone to cover up or be banned. Whether it was deliberate, whether it was a wardrobe malfunction, why does anyone care?

Janet is the only artist – apart from Madge – who has an exclusive playlist on my Spotify, my ringtone is Janet’s intro to Escapade and yes, I did lose the plot slightly when I heard she was making a comeback. Unsuprisingly, I am not the only one currently fangirling over Janet

Her new single, No Sleeep, is another of those quiet and sexy affairs she is so great at delivering. Fait accompli Miss Jackson, it’s so nice to have you back.

Standard

Leave a comment