Uncategorized

What I Bought – A woman’s right to (pretty) shoes

Oh January, you are full of flu-like symptoms such as headaches, terribly sore throats and sleepless nights of coughing. I should know. It’s 5 am when I write this, and I’m suffering from “manflu” except I’m a woman. I will spend the rest of the year blaming the guy who gave it to me, although it serves me well: leave guys with the flu alone, Jess, even when they request a pity hug.

However January also brings new things, and I begin 2011 with a pair of extremely pretty shoes. Pictured below, from Bershka (sister store to Zara and Co) and very Miu-Miu. I got these out of pure envy, spotting them at a fellow Belgian blogger’ site, Polienne . A couple of weeks ago I was in Spain to find they were sold out. When I was about to leave, my wandering eye travelled to the back of the store and found one pair left …in my size. To top it off, they were heavily discounted, at €15. Insane, right? I had found the elusive Christmas bargain.

I may not be able to say much with my horrid flu, but pretty, pretty, pretty shoes I can say

A while back I shared my shoe collection with you, dear readers. There weren’t that many, as from the comments I got some of you had a wider selection. And yes, the number has obviously grown since.  From some friends and acquaintances I received a lot of looks of disbelief, some even questioning my money management skills, others even questioned my entire lifestyle. I kid you not.

 Oh Manolos, one day I shall be worthy of thee (HBO)

I don’t have a mortgage, I don’t have an expensive gym membership, I don’t have kids. I don’t smoke and hardly drink, so what is wrong with my vice being shoes? One of my favourite Sex and The City episodes – although it also makes me cringe –  is the one with the title like this post. Carrie gets judged and even shamed for buying expensive shoes, by a working mother who tells her it’s time to live in the “real world”.

As Carrie, I have bought presents for other people’s engagements, weddings, new born babies, and will continue to do so. And as Carrie laments, no one celebrates single ladies, working girls and independent females. All we can do is celebrate ourselves, and I will continue to do so with pretty shoes throughout 2011 and beyond.

So,  did you hear about Anna Dello Russo insane shoe collection, with 4,000 pairs?

Do you think some women need to get over their shoes, or some need to get over their “real lives”? What is your take?
Pictures: Fashion Limbo, HBO

Standard

27 thoughts on “What I Bought – A woman’s right to (pretty) shoes

  1. I'm totally with you on your shoes addicition. Don't get why it bothers people. I'm in the same boat, no kids, no mortgage, I work in IT from 9 to 5.. And I buy shoes, expensive ones as well.And I get DA LOOKS from people about the amount of shoes I own. As if I was wasting their money)And this – "no one celebrates single ladies, working girls and independent females" is what I was thinking too lately. Well, we can just enjoy ourselves without any reference to anybody))And your new pumps are so pretty and for 15EU omg noone would resist! xxTaliFetishist's Notes – ia-fetishistka.blogspot.com.

    Like

  2. Oh I'm so jealous you got them! I saw them in Portugal but they weren't available in my size anymore. Damn, they're so pretty. Irresistible for 15 euros!And thanks for 'featuring' me 😉

    Like

  3. I can't believe that you got such an amazing deal on those wonderful, wonderful shoes! And the shoe shame episode of SATC is one of my faves – I am unapologetic about my clothing and shoe purchases and you should be to. It's your money, you earned it and no else, and you have the freedom to spend it on what you will. I mean it's not like you're using to fund a drug cartel or some other ridiculous socially irresponsible thing – they're shoes!xoxo ~ Courtneyhttp://sartorialsidelines.blogspot.com

    Like

  4. preach it, sistah! I feel exactly the same way, Carrie was so right. We own our money and we have the right to enjoy it any which way we want, and there are few ways better than spending it on beautiful shoes. The Miu Miu lookalikes are adorable, too bad they don't have a mary jane strap!

    Like

  5. OMG I swear!!! We are BFF!!!!!!! I am OBSESSED with SATC esp Carrie! She is my most fav girl in the world, and I loved that episode!I think your shoe collection is fabulous and who cares what they say!! Uggg everyone is so quick to judge I swear!I am soooooo jealous of those shoes!PS–you can totally pull the hair look off with long hair!!XX

    Like

  6. Not only does no one celebrate single ladies, but no one celebrates if you don`t have a wedding (even if you are getting married)! I find it terribly ironic that I sent out money and presents to my friends` weddings but since I am not having a huge ceremony I don`t get the same respect.But then, I buy my single lady gifts (though unfortunately not nice shoes like what you bought) on occasions when I feel like surprising them & bringing a smile to my face. At least, with those friends, I can expect the same.I agree. I just stopped telling people what I pay for shoes. I think buying good quality shoes is worth the money & the staying power of the shoe itself.When you are financially secure & not hurting anyone or yourself, why is it anyone else`s business?Hana @ Finding Tokyo

    Like

  7. You need to get some lemsip max strength day and night capsules, damn I sound like an advert for boots. But on the real they helped me get over my manflu before christmas. They kick in after a few hours.I love the shoes you picked up they were a right bargain and as you quite rightly stated very Miu Miu!As for shoes I did a lengthy post on my blog about designer vs high street shoes. A lot of people don't really 'get' spending that sort of money on expensive shoes. But will easily spend £100 on a pair from topshop and consider that ok. If you save a bit of money you can easily pick up a pair of designer shoes that will probably out last a pair from the high street.Most people think it's fine to spend a lot of money tech but will pull a face if you spend similar amounts on clothes/shoes. But generally tech is outdated after a year or two but good clothes and shoes can last you much much longer.Blog:http://www.arashmazinani.comTwitter:@arashmazinani

    Like

  8. Do I think women need to get over their shoe habit? Nope, I think men need to get over their gadget habit…Those shoes were meant for you: hidden at the back of the store, discounted, last pair IN YOUR SIZE? It's a sign from God. God wants you to have those shoes, hehe.

    Like

  9. Hiya all, I'm seriously ill today, my flu is giving me no rest…so I can't really interact much except to thank you all for commenting, and appreciating anyone's right to pretty things. Arash thanks so much for the medicine advice 😉 Laura, those shoes were indeed meant for me :)Annebeth if they had had straps à la Mary Jane then they wouldn't be pretty, they would be purrrrfection ;)Hugs also to Hana, Courtney,Angela. I hope you all have a lovely weekend xxx

    Like

  10. I completely support your shoe addiction! Having a pair that you love and makes you feel great when you have them on is worth cutting back in other areas to afford them. Obviously going bankrupt for the sake of fashion is a little crazy, but splurging every once in a while on great shoes is so worth it.

    Like

  11. Thanks so much Birdie!, freeda, lisa, loveandpeaceF and Jaclyn for your wonderful commments. We love our shoes, we love ourselves, and that is it. The world would be a much sadder place without pretty shoes 🙂

    Like

  12. I dont know how many shoes i own. I know its probably a tad excessive. Nobody should be judged on what they spend their money on, I often think about doing a shoe post on my own blog, but the task of getting them all together is a touch overwhelming. At the mo just counting boots, (because as its cold that is what I am living in) I have 9 pairs. Some may feel its too much, I still feel I could use a few more!

    Like

  13. Those are stunning shoes! I don't think there's anything wrong with spending money on yourself if it's something you really want that will help you to feel confident. As you say, some people have a gym membership, some people smoke – it's up to you how you spend your money!

    Like

  14. I think if you are paying your bills, and have money to fall back on.. who cares. Some people spend money on their cars, children, home, etc. What is so wrong with buying shoes. Now I will say 4,000 is a bit much. But, who am I to judge. If your only problem in life is too many shoes, then you are ahead of the crowd. My Heart Blogged

    Like

  15. I'm envious you were able to find that pair! Such a lucky moment for you!!Also, I agree- it's your money, and if you have no other more demanding purposes for your money to go to (mortage, kids, etc), then you have every right to buy whatever you want and not feel bad about it!xx.Judy

    Like

  16. I just loved the episode when Carrie stated her love for shoes and her right to buy expensive ones, it was actually very empowering 🙂 I agree with not spending money on shoes over childs, dooh, but there's nothing wrong with indulging yourself if you can.♥Fashezine

    Like

  17. Pingback: Links à la mode – La semaine de 13 janvier 2011

  18. Pingback: IFB Presents: Links a la Mode — Ash in Fashion: Fashion with a Twist

Leave a comment