personal style, shopping, Style

Style and the City – Antwerp

If there’s a city you are missing out on, that’s Antwerp. And I have the perfect girl to tell you all about this town : The Styling Dutchman. I talked to this fun fashion icon about shopping, food and more. If you are looking for the ultimate cool weekend get-away, search no more, keep reading.

De Wapper fountain in the middle of The Meir, Antwerp’s main shopping street

How do you define your personal style?

I have always had a knack for quirky style, being a bit of a punk in my teens and slowly moving towards more of a feminine silhouette as I get older. Right now I’m into prints, colors, midi skirts, vintage and Mad Men!

Style is…

I am drawn to people who have a very cohesive look. A look where the hair, the face, the personality, the clothes, the colors and the accessories all match to exude a clear personality. When you see a person that has found that look that matches them to perfection, they almost come across as a perfectly styled character from a movie.
.

The Hof van Liere, just outside Annebeth’s University Library

Tell me about Antwerp

I actually live in a tiny little village outside Antwerp, but study there. Antwerp is a beautiful city with a very metropolitan feel compared to certain other Belgian cities, like Ghent or Bruges. It’s very open, very international, very ahead of the pack and very clean but still with lots of personality. In Belgium, Antwerp is known for its arrogance but me as a “Dutchie”, I fit in nicely. Dutch people are considered arrogant by Belgians too, you know. There is this joke where they say that people from Antwerp see Belgium as only having one real city, and consider the rest of Belgium just parking space, haha!

What are your favourite places to shop in Antwerp?

Do I really have to say it?? T2 VINTAGE!! Just of the main high street (the Meir) and jam packed with treasures waiting to be discovered for ridiculously low prices. They have monthly sales and prices go down to 1 euro a piece!
🙂

Annebeth styling it up over at The Styling Dutchman

Best things to do in Antwerp over a weekend?

The Antwerp Zoo! My favorite animals there are the otters,  they never fail to cheer me up! Also, the zoo is an awesome place to stroll around in your Sunday’s best. You have to think of photo ops as a styleblogger 😉

If you could only eat in one restaurant in Antwerp, which one would it be?

Sushi, sushi, sushi!!! The amazing all you can eat sushi restaurant in the Keyser Center, Kaiseki, just outside the central train station and it makes me hungry just thinking about the place now. The entire district just outside the train station is filled with lovely places to eat. We went to a pitta place slash Mediterranean restaurant a while ago that looked really iffy from the outside but quite lovely on the inside. Also, my favorite pizza place Leonardo Da Vinci! I failed miserably at recommending one place, didn’t I? Oh well that’s how I am when it comes to food: insatiable.
.
Annebeth Bels is a student of Communication Science at Antwerp and the style icon also known as The Styling Dutchman. A pro at outfit posts, her site is a must-see in fashion blogging.

Standard

18 thoughts on “Style and the City – Antwerp

  1. Antwerp is my all time favourite city too! As I live there too 😉

    Great decision to pick Annebeth for this article, especially as she’s a vintage-lover just like me. We share the same fave adresses 🙂 I really love the second outfit you picked from here.

    Like

    • She does look adorable in that outfit picture, doesn’t she? it’s the skirt that I adore, and the way she teams it with the vibrant t-shirt. Thanks for commenting Paulien, I adore your site by the way xxxx

      Like

  2. Just a very quick note because my husband is getting off the phone – I can hear – and we’ll resume watching a film but I had to reply to your comments – thank you – I loved what you said about the wreaths ANd the packing. Isn’t it funny: men are so smug about it but let’s face it – they need less stuff than we do! It’s like he’ll suddenly decide ‘let’s do something spontaneous’ (drive somewhere etc) but he’ll have already made that plan in his head, and all he needs is his wallet and car keys and we’re off, and I’m trying to find a certain pair of sunglasses.. and which bag.. you get the picture.

    So weird that this post is on Antwerp (and I love the look of your blog now btw) because suddenly in the past few weeks it seems all these unrelated people are going to Antwerp: my brother, on tour, our friends Andy & Emma (also musicians) played 11 gigs in 8 days, another friend went to shop sample sales for the Antwerp Five… what is it with that city? Everyone loves it. I’d love to go.

    Okay enough chit chat, he’s off the phone, time to resume the film. I’ll be back! xx

    Like

  3. p.s. How rude of me: I didn’t see the rest of the post before I sent this! Annebeth is LOVELY. I love her style. That midi skirt with the tucked in tee.. so gamine, so Audrey Hepburn circa late 1950s.

    Like

    • hehehehe, she is lovely indeed isn’t she? Absolutely adore what she does with her clothes 😉 Antwerp is worth a trip, a fantastic place, been there for the best music (Metallica, Kylie, Tori Amos, yes I do have a “varied” taste), the shopping, the fashion (saw an amazing exhibit at the fashion museum)… I have even ran half-marathons there, love the place!

      Like

  4. Well, I probably shouldn’t mention again how much I love Annebeth and her style because I’m already borderline stalkerish to her hehe so, it was really awesome to hear and see a bit about Antwerp! What a great feature idea, so interesting!

    Like

  5. She does have amazing style, Ive often read her blog and been more than impressed. Antwerp looks and sounds really wonderful. Its another one on my long list to visit!!

    Like

  6. Angie says:

    hiii guys, 1 quick question,, am going to Antwerp on June 18th, and i have nooo idea about the weather right now.. can you please advise ? 🙂

    many thanks !

    Like

    • This time of the year it should be warm, however weather in Belgium is a tad unpredictable. From what I’ve been hearing it’s warm in general, temperatures up o 23 celsius, but for the sudden rain you will always need a nice jacket, or some cardies, the key with Belgium is layering 😉

      Like

Leave a comment