life, shopping

The Rant – The sad Zara girl

The Zara logo is sad too, you know?

AUTHOR’S NOTE: Following the huge amounts of attention this post gets, I feel I need to clarify a few points.
This post was originally written for, and inspired by, customers’ experience mostly in Spain, more specifically, southern Spain. The version that appears in a publication for the region, can be seen here. It was written from the point of view of the customer, to entertain customers, and make them think about, why, in general, customer service in Spain is so poor. 
Personally, I have worked in fashion. I’ve had the horrid staff room with no heating in minus zero degrees in winter. I have been physically assaulted by customers that got angry because I didn’t let them return a dress that was stained and smelling of cigarettes. I developed a back injury from lifting boxes full of stock, up and down very unsafe stairs. I’ve been insulted, I’ve been threatened. I have seen with my own eyes the disgusting things some human beings do in changing rooms.
Now as a customer, and a ridiculously polite one, I have been, on most occasions, treated with a lot of arrogance by Zara staff, but – and I cannot stress this enough – mostly in Spain. It’s happened to friends of mine, family members, acquaintances, co-workers. I didn’t make this up. This is why this article was written in the first place, and also, after reading – as it’s stated in the article – reviews that can be found on newspapers and online magazines. However, I do know, and respect that, in Spain, there are wonderful Zara girls, who work their ass off, with a smile, even when customers behave like demanding little monsters.
Also, the intention was not to offend Zara workers all over the globe. The intention was not to offend anyone that is working stupidly long hours, with salaries that will never pay the rent, and working conditions that are disgusting. I’m pretty sure Zara is not the best place to work at. And I’m also sure the circumstances are VERY different for someone in Australia, in Colombia, Thailand, Korea etc. This is NOT reflected in this post. 

It is a scientifically proven fact that the girls working in Zara are always miserable. You walk up to the till, patiently wait your turn, finally reaching the sales assistant. You greet her with a smile and a hello, and she doesn’t even look you in the eye.

She folds your clothes to neat perfection, with a halo of sadness reminiscent of the unhappy housewife, re-living her misery every day, as she folds the laundry, her husband ignoring her scoring mistress after mistress.

She takes your credit card and scrutinises it closely, asking you to introduce your PIN number with a lifeless voice, returning it to you with no “thank you”. The Zara girl doesn’t know that word. She hands the bag of purchases to you, then looking into thin air, calls the next customer.

Have you ever experienced this sort of, sad, impersonal customer service at the Inditex brand? I have seen it happening in London, in Brussels, Antwerp and now I’m experiencing the full-on “I’m too miserable to even acknowledge your presence” attitude in their Spanish stores. Mary Portas went to the Oxford Street flagship store in London and compared the service to that of Burger King, even calling it “snooty”.

Why are they so sad? is the pay that bad? Are the working conditions so horrid? Why do they hate customers? Because, the truth is, they hate us all.

Maybe it’s the uniforms they have to wear: jacket, top and trousers, ugly shoes, all in black. Day in, day out. Maybe they see us happy customers smiling away with our colourful purchases. Their resentment must be at a mighty high after this Summer of vibrant colour blocking.

Maybe they are told not to smile? They might have been warned about Anna Wintour not including smiles in the upcoming September issue of Vogue, and we all know how good Zara is at replicating the latest trends.

I wonder whether they have motivational posters in the storage rooms, as in “make a customer feel as insignificant as an amoeba and get a 10% discount”.

We may never know the real reason. All we can be sure of, is that the girls in Zara are sad. Very, very sad.

Note: I have worked in retail, in some miserable conditions. I have worked in pubs, with minimum wage and drunks as customers. Still, I believe a smile goes a long way. I’m seriously curious about the lack of customer care in Zara, if anyone knows anything about their working conditions, please enlighten us. Until then I can only look at this misery with a pinch of salt 😉

Standard

26 thoughts on “The Rant – The sad Zara girl

  1. Claire Nelson says:

    I find this in Topshop too. And most high street stores. I very rarely buy new clothes, so when I do I feel like I’m treating myself. Yet I always get such a disdainful look from shop staff when they hand my bag over, that it spoils the shopping experience! Often they will be laughing and chatting to their co-workers as they ring up my items, yet when they speak to me all the life and soul leaves their tone of voice. It’s like customers are spoiling their fun. On the bright side it makes me not spend so much money in their stores. 🙂

    Like

    • yes Topshop does the “I giggle with my co-workers and ignore the customer in front of me” so well, it really makes me shop less and less there, and Zara has me hardly wanting to walk into their stores. To top it all, both Topshop and Zara have very inflated prices and low quality so what’s the deal really? Thanks for commenting Claire xxx

      Like

  2. Fab! Went to Zara in Chania in Crete – most miserable bloody women I have ever met and if I remember rightly they weren’t even in the uniform that you describe that might have given them some justification!

    Like

    • Maybe it’s a US and Canada thing? when I was in NY last Summer one thing that stood out was very good customer service everywhere I went. Maybe it’s more of a country thing and not a brand-related characteristic?

      Like

  3. Kasbah says:

    US and Canada…comission and bonuses maybe? Its drilled into the mentality that you must smile to get a tip…not in the old world.
    Rest of world, customer care is part of the uniform, either you wear it right or you don’t wear it at all!

    Like

    • yes but at least it’s good customer service, even if based on comissions, I’d rather have people treating me like a queen because they want my money that some that seem I’d rather spent it elsewhere… that’s just my humble opinion 😛

      Like

  4. I really agree with the other commenters, and have actually noticed that in Zara stores in the US (the few I’ve been to not in Spain!) that they smile & seem like pretty normal retailers to me. But that is expected everywhere in the US, overly friendly customer service, which is the polar opposite of Spain. So maybe it has something to do with Zara being a Spanish company- they don’t stress in their international policies either? Anyway, enough blabbering because really I just wanted to say that I loved your post! You were able to poke fun at this in such pretty & funny writing!

    Like

  5. Bahahahahahahahahahaha. Honestly, I haven’t experienced bad customer service at Zara’s but I live in the States and in NYC retail overload so they probably have been grilled to be kind and cheery. But really I love the way you wrote this made me laugh out loud!!!

    You are the best Jessie!

    Like

    • Aahhww Jamillah you made my day, thank you so much. I’m truly happy that you found it funny and enjoyed reading it :):):) It’s funny how the US is light years away in customer service from what we have in some places in Europe xx

      Like

  6. Great piece ! Well written and so oddly true ! I live in Bordeaux, France and the sale customers in the Zara shops we have here are always too busy running from one end of the store to the other to even acknowledge our presence or as you’ve described, folding clothes with a sad look on their faces. Same thing when I went to Spain !
    I kind of dislike going to that store now, even though you can find some nice pieces of garment.

    Absolute B. from Incognito

    Like

  7. I used to sell shoes at Macy’s, and I was always chipper. A big difference though is that I was not a wage slave. I made a very decent percentage in commission for every pair of shoes sold. I would have some customers come in and buy multiple copies of the same shoe, or the same shoe in all different colors, so it was very important to build a good rapport with the customer, because your bottom line depended on repeat business.

    Japanese customer service is quite amazing, and the includes at ZARA. There is a ZARA in Shinsaibashi, Osaka that I go to quite often, and I have always had excellent service there.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting. You do find that working on comission makes for sales people that strive in making the shopping experience a fantastic thing all around, and will smile, encourage, even make you laugh, whatever it is, to make the buck. I’ve worked for retail with ridiculously low salaries, but I just couldn’t be mean or ignore people because of that…unless they were mean to me hehehe. Kindness goes a long way! I remember working for a brand in which some customers came back again and again because they got to have a laugh and a girlie chat with us…we got no comissions, just a basic pay, and a low one for that. I’ve also heard wonderful things about Japanese customer service.

      Like

  8. Ha ha that is so true, in fact so so true that one I got a right shock. I actually asked a sales assistant about a pair of trousers I had seen the other day but couldn’t find, expecting a nonchalant shrug I nearly fainted when the girl knew exactly the product I was after, called up to the stock room to get my size – but brought two sizes as she thought they were a large fit so I should try both just in case! She was so nice, so friendly, so helpful – I think maybe she was a mirage lol!

    Like

  9. Fi says:

    It’s funny because Inditex put so much emphasis on the importance of customer service when I went for a group interview in London but some Sales Assistants seem to forget everything the moment they hit the shopfloor! It’s part of professionalism to put your personal issues aside; it doesn’t take a lot to smile and customers notice good service.

    Like

  10. Leonie says:

    OH I so agree and it’s not just Zara in Spain but a general malaise. I have posted the following in several places now out of sheer frustration.
    Just been Christmas shopping – have now decided that in future I will shop in UK or online because –
    NO I don’t want to go to another till
    NO I haven’t got anything smaller
    NO I don’t want to wait whilst you discuss your sex life, stack shelves, fiddle with coathangers or talk to the customer behind me
    NO I m not a thief (and neither are the bulk of your customers CARREFOUR)
    … YES I would like some eye contact
    YES I would like a hello, thank you or I’d even settle for ‘have a nice day’.
    The Spanish economy is dying and it’s customer service is some of the worst I have ever encountered. I work here and want to spend my money here but where is the CUSTOMER SERVICE. NO customers no shops no jobs – it’s so simple.

    Like

  11. vanessa says:

    I am sure this incidents are not common in the usa we train them and we also make sure to make them happy. Our employees are very important to us and making. Sure that our customers have the best possible experience is our mission.

    Like

  12. Dina says:

    i used to work as sales and then cashier at zara store in alexandria, egypt……..and i agree with u that working there made me a miserable girl, coz of managers in zara first of all they thought as they are managers there, is like they are the master and i’m a slave…..plus working there is all about stress…..long working hours…..i felt that i was losing my social life…..i hate zara and everything about it…it reminds me of bad memories….

    Like

    • Rose says:

      I just got a part time job at Zara and have worked 3 shifts, I am already in tears and extremely miserable. I love working in retail and previously worked at Oasis and loved it, we loved our customers and they were our top priority. I loved nothing more than helping our customer find what she needed. But since starting working here i can say that the only customer Zara are interested in pleasing is the mystery shop customer (which they get twice a month). They girls are seriously over worked, the tils are terrible and im terrified of making mistakes, and on the shop floor we have far to much to do and remember that we walk around in a saddened stuper because we WANT to help our customers but we just dont have time, its horrible and embarrassing. Im already thinking of leaving..

      Like

  13. they make us work to the max.. trust me..thats why some of us dont smile..i literally have a list of all the tasks that i have to complete before closing..so yeah you will not see me smiliing… but trust me we are nice and fun people when we clock out

    Like

  14. Tom says:

    I have had terrible customer service at a Zara here in the UK. I wanted to return/exchange an item that I had (shouldn’t have) bought from Zara. Because I work 7 days a week I was unable to return the item within the 30 day refund period. Completely ignoring and brushing aside my extenuating circumstances, they point-blank refused to return the items or for that matter an exchange.

    The staff (especially the store manager and the menswear manager) (Rebecca) became very defensive and dismissive, abrupt and otherwise unwilling to engage in a conversation. Despite myself being a regular customer, there was no flexibility or empathy on their part or any attempt to resolve the issue by showing goodwill.

    They stated that the primary reason for not allowing me to exchange or return the items was that they had changed seasons and thus they would be unable to re-sell the items. Previously the staff were more than happy to help and assist me when SELLING things to me – but apparently customer service and their friendly attitudes go completely out of the window as soon as they are not able to make money from you i.e. you are returning something.

    Welcome to Zara Clothing. They are happy to take your money but if you ever have a problem or an issue, expect terrible customer service. Expect them to be defensive and dismissive, abrupt and otherwise unwilling to engage in a conversation. Expect a LACK of flexibility or empathy on their part or any attempt to resolve the issue by showing goodwill. But of-course, they will be more then happy to sell you some more things and take your money!

    They have now lost yet another customer and future revenue all for their desire to save £9 (by not returning the item) due to their greed and their rigid and inflexible customer service. Very clever business strategy!

    I will be shpping elsewhere from now on. there are plenty of alternatives: H & M, FCUK, GAP, Levi’s, John Lewis, Debenhams, Next, BANK etc. Explore the options!

    Like

  15. Sarah says:

    Spot on. Sad, unhelpful, ridiculous corporate policies and be prepared to have your day ruined if you want to return something (with a receipt). A recent horrible experience at Toronto Eaton Centre to return a blazer – never ever will I go to Zara. Like their clothes – despite the poor quality (I have never had anything there last long, except one pair of flats) – but with customer service like that – never ever!!!

    Like

Leave a comment