fashion show, shoes, Style

Excitement & Disappointment – A fashion fairy tale

So, the new iPhone is not that excitingly new… when the other hotly anticipated piece of news of the year-  who will take over the reigns at Dior – is known, will we be a bit more buzzed about it?  Are we just too demanding? Maybe when we complain about how rapidly Apple updates everything on us, we are being moany insects, as really, deep down, we want new gadgets: quicker, faster, sooner. Let’s face it, who is even slightly motivated about H&M + Versace collaboration? Aren’t we all a tad, “meh” and hoping for the next best thing?

I don’t know, maybe I’m speaking too broadly, but I’m not that excited about the Versace bit, nor the new iPhone – since my 3GS seems reliable enough – and I desperately want Apple to start manufacturing MacBooks again.. but I am a bit of a retro queen, so there goes.

And…Paris, yes, about Paris,what about it? it’s Paris Fashion Week, and Chanel is going mostly white for Spring 2012, and according to Jennifer Neyt from Vogue FR, inspired by Coco Chanel’s love of pearls, nacre brilliance added to some cute pale shades: pinks, greens, a dash of salmon, broad shapes in jackets, midi skirts.

Kanye West also debuted his big ego on the Parisian catwalks, but I cannot really say much about a collection that was hardly “designed” by the nonetheless talented rapper, so I’d rather mention the theatricals at Alexander McQueen. A collection by Sarah Burton which was academic McQueen: very dramatic, a love for corsets, emphasized shoulders, intriquet details, plenty of metallics such as gold, corals, pale purples, and a return to their most thought-provoking ideas such as women objectification etc.

Pic by Julie Ansiau via Vogue FR

Excitement, buzz… today I’m loving this simple, effortless chic look from Paris Fashion Week, great photo by Julie Ansiau, via Vogue Paris. Those sandals are simply stunning… anyone recognise the brand/label? Please enlighten me.

UPDATE: and I’m excited!!! Just finished watching the live streaming of the Louis Vuitton show. It began beautifully, when the gigantic cylinder on the circular stage lifted, unveiling all of the models sitting on a huge white carousel. It began turning and with the dreamy music, one by one the models descended from their pearly white hourses. The last model to walk, a stunning – seriously, how does she do it?! – Kate Moss. Again, pale shades, broderie anglaise, some transparencies and feathers. As soon as I find a picture I will let you know.

UPDATE 2: Here’s a picture from The Telegraph by AFP

Pictures: Vogue Paris, Telegraph

Standard

7 thoughts on “Excitement & Disappointment – A fashion fairy tale

  1. I think the iPhone 4S was what you’d expect for an ‘S’ upgrade it’s inline with the upgrade you saw with the 3G to the 3GS.. but anyhow…

    I’ve not followed any of the fashion weeks, mainly as I’ve not had much time to. I’m going to have a look on style.com and check out some of the collections. Who designed the kanye collection then?

    Like

    • Kanye was “helped” by Kim Jones – Louis Vuitton menswear designer- by British designer Louise Goldin and by Louise Wilson from the St Martins background…. I wonder what Kanye actually brought to the table… money, promo, ….. his ego for sure 🙂
      Thanks for commenting Arash 🙂

      Like

  2. If I’m honest I’d prefer it if things slowed down a litte, if fashions stuck around a little longer and my mobile phone wasn’t out of date in just a week. Brilliant post as always dear xxx

    Like

  3. Ha, I have the 4S and got it on the day it came out. No queueing and dramatics though, just waltzed in, had a laugh, hung out and got the phone. I do love it, I had a 3GS though so it was a big, big change for me. I am a bit of a geek girl though. I always go for the S version of the phone rather than a new, buggy version.

    I did really like Louis Vuitton but it seemed very Chanel to me.

    Like

Leave a comment