Uncategorized

The Rant – Summer peeves

Summer brings all sorts of body-related issues. The less layers of fabric to cover our flaws, the more insecure we feel. I love wearing opaque tights in winter, simply because I hate baring my legs during the warmer period. They are white – of quite the “dairy” nature –  not long and the cherry on top are my knobbly knees that I’ve learnt to, more or less, accept. Then it’s the “cute” pot-belly and its dimensions right now depend on how successful my post-Christmas diets were. Winter allows us to shape our selves with flattering coats, jackets, high-waisted trousers and so much more. I love covering up.

So… thinking about bikinis at this point becomes a cruel form of self-torture. In a year where having a back injury means I can’t really exercise, my body confidence is quite low and at this point I’m seriously dreading a stroll by the beach. I also had to make it harder for myself by moving to the coast – feel free to hate me. What are my options? Moving back to the north of Europe? … NOT happening!

Maybe find the perfect bathing suit? Daisy Lowe is continuing with her Peacocks collaboration and will be launching a collection of swimwear with a very 60s vibe. They are quite pretty, will probably hide all the ugly bits, but I do wonder about quality. I’m also eyeing this cute H&M; ensemble below, and with its high-waist it may be a good option.
 Retro bathing suits and bikinis work beautifully with:
  • cute wedges and especially rope sandals, aka espadrilles. Very beachy but ensure it comes with a good sole, or you may end up having sand for breakfast.
  • skirts – add a mini to the mix and you can go from the sand to the bar in a fabulous manner

So either I find a cute retro bathing suit that makes me feel comfortable and sexy, or I replicate fashion icon Sarah Jessica Parker’s possibly laziest look ever, and yet, unsuprisingly cool (Sex & The City season 2, ep 17) teaming a bikini top with the biggest beach shorts I can find… However, I do fear it may be one of those looks that only work for Miss Bradshaw.

Stills property of HBO
Are you worrying about your beach body too? Do you care much about how you look at the seaside? Or once the sun shines you are out and about in shorts and sandals like there’s no tomorrow?
Pictures: Peacocks, H&M;, HBO
Standard

6 thoughts on “The Rant – Summer peeves

  1. In all honestly, I hate the beach. Hate it. I hate heat and sun and I haven't actually been to a beach since I was 13, despite living quite close to several nice ones. So I sort of get to side step the whole beach body thing (which is good because I'm sure it would propel me into a fit of anxiety and a hefty dose of low self-esteem). The best advice I can give is to shop around and find something that you feel confident and comfortable in (and trust me, it's out there) and always remember that, as women, it seems to be curse for buying into the beauty myth that we hate things about our corporeal selves but it really and truly is all in our heads!xoxo ~ Courtneyhttp://sartorialsidelines.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. I wish everyone would just stop caring about perfection. I'm sure your body is a lot more beautiful than you think, and that you have nothing to be ashamed of. Just go to the beach, enjoy the sun, bare your flesh!I love pale skin btw :Dand yes, the shoes were uncomfy! a bit on the small side in the toe section.

    Like

  3. I used to worry about my beach body and work out like crazy as soon as the season was upon us. Now I don't worry about it and I'm inspired by Amy Adams words: "I was not put on this earth to look good in a bathing suit."

    Like

  4. I could have sworn I commented on here already maybe it never actually posted.I'm already working on my beach body. I've been out of shape for too long since my last summer holiday where the all you can eat buffet's took their toll. I'm now on a strict diet and work out plan and I'm enjoying it, I can see the small progress I'm making and the food I can eat is not too bad.I do drool though when I walk past the isles in the supermartkets that contain all the bad stuff.

    Like

  5. Thanks everyone for commenting, really appreciate it, I've just been moving into my new flat FINALLY and getting the internet connections sorted (nightmare).Love to all of you, especially Arash if you did comment twice but it only got published once 😉

    Like

Leave a comment