personal style, shopping, Style

How To Save Money On the Sales – the aftermath

Remember my strategy for the upcoming summer sales? After a couple of shopping trips, my plans were squashed and left me with a bitter after-taste edging  towards deep disappointment. Having recently moved to Spain I was really looking forward to some decent bargain hunting at Zara, but I was obviously deluded.

At the store, it looked like a bomb had hit the place. Remember how I mentioned how some shops had the visual edge? This Zara branch clearly had none. The only reason why I didn’t make a U-turn as soon as I walked through the door, was because I was after certain items I had already eyed during the season. I’m guessing that’s what everyone does and Zara knows this, hence the lack of effort tiding up the shop floor.

Secondly, we all know their full prices are somewhat inflated, as the quality is never amazing, I have witnessed how a blouse that cost over €30 ended up ruined after one wash. I went to Zara at exactly 7 hours after they opened for sales, at 5pm on the first day. I found a gold knitwear jumper that was ruined in every single of the 7 pieces that were left. Maybe I’m looking for the wrong type of item during the sales (???), knitwear being a delicate thing and the rush of people makes these items really suffer. I also came across several blouses missing at least a button, a purse with a ripped zip, and skirts that looked like somebody had used them to sweep the floors. To top it, these items were still overpriced: in the case of the knitted jumper, €35 for a piece that was so badly manufactured – in Turkey, apparently – it was full of pulled threads and holes. The hangers they were on over-stretched their necklines to nasty extents.

Is that what I can expect from Zara’s sales? defective pieces at high prices? I could have gone up to the till – as that was were all sales attendants seemed to gather, none on the floor tiding up the rails or tables – and asked for a further reduction, but the queues were of +12 people each. I really didn’t have the heart to wait for so long, for maybe, an extra 10% reduction if anything.

Don’t get me wrong, I have worked in retail, during the sales, and the mayhem is such that it becomes near to impossible to keep an eye on the state of the store when a human tide is ravishing through it. However for the quality of mass-produced fashion, that we all know is very cheap to make, finding such hefty price tags seems like a cruel joke.

Did I managed to stick to my wish list? not really, as I hardly found any of the items I was after. I did manage to purchase a cute bikini, at another store, but it wasn’t even reduced so I only bought the top, then teaming it with some bottoms that were at half-price.

My sister did find a cute dress over at Zara, still overpriced, again for what it was, at €20, but we felt the colour and the cut were simply perfect for the summer, plus the fabric seemed so light I was really happy she went for it – I just really hope it doesn’t shrink in the laundry. What do you think?

Dress: Zara
Bag: Stradivarius
Sandals: Pull & Bear circa 2006
Shades: Topshop

This is probably the first time I feature my little sister here, Tina, apart from now and then on former logo’s and site headers. She’s one gorgeous kitty and I love her for letting me take pictures of her to publish on Fashion Limbo.

So, were the sales good to you?

Pictures: Fashion Limbo

Standard

16 thoughts on “How To Save Money On the Sales – the aftermath

  1. Kasbah says:

    Well i had a go at finding something in the sales that would befit a man such as myself, and was also rather disappointed at the pricing…in fact i left having only purchased one item, a classy shirt at Sfera…that was not actually even reduced! Sometimes you just gotta be lucky!

    Like

  2. Neslie says:

    I have the sensation that for sales companies have a plan, most of the time even you are the first to enter the shop you can’t see the staff that you see during the season. So i think they remove many clothes from the expositions.. I wouldn’t blame the shop assistants clients are playing the worst part. We all get crazy and we are not bothered most of the time to put the thing on the table from where we picked. It’s madness…

    Like

    • From my experience in retail, not everything goes on sales. some items are simply never part of the sales selection because they either arrived late in the season, or because it’s more interesting to leave them full price as they are so in demand they will sell even without the sale. Also, with Zara, they will remove from their stores anything that doesn’t sell fast, as that is their strategy: fast fashion. If anything is slow to sell, it gets removed from the shelves and moved on to other stores, such as outlets, so many things don’t even make it to the sales of your local store. Sales are tricky that way, there are really good deals to be found, but not all of the time, and I also cannto stand the messy stores and the madness of it all, it stresses me out 🙂 Thanks for commenting lovely! xxx

      Like

  3. Sylvia says:

    I used to love sales (cannot resist a bargain) but after trekking round River Island, H&M, and a huge “Outfit” store (all Arcadia..topshop, Warehouse, Dorothy Perkins, Wallis) I am bitterly dissapointed 😦 as you pointed out nothing was from this season and the cost of items certainly did not reflect a sale price ! River Island has so many damaged goods you would not take it even if it was given away.what’s going on ?
    I did however go to my first “sample sale” at Hobbs wow 3 dresses all priced over £150 each … Wait for it ……. £10 EACH now that’s what I call a bargain x

    Like

    • (Sort of) glad I wasn’t the only one troubled after the sales. I’m unsure if it’s related with keeping costs low in this economical climate, maybe the quality of the merchandise has been lowered? or the percentage of the reductions have been limited even more this season?
      Fantastic sample sale by the way, those a true bargains… I trust you got something pretty? 😉

      Like

  4. I totally agree on Zara. They occasionally have irresistible stuff, but so overpriced! It just turns me off entirely. But when you do find a steal it’ll be double the fun. Your sis is adorable, love her sandals!

    Like

  5. Her dress is cute, and I love the blue nail polish! I’ve been shopping sales online and have been finding some good deals. I haven’t shopped at Zara, but I understand the disappoint of going to a store where the quality is low, the prices are high, and the sales floor a disaster.

    Like

  6. Oh wow , Zara sounds like a nightmare!! If I’m after something specific, I tend to scour the online sales. I did pretty well, a good haul from Net-a-Porter ❤

    Like

  7. Aw if it’s any consolation I didn’t manage to get anything in the sale. Recently whenever I have gone onto the high street I’ve not found anything I’ve liked the look of :-(.

    Like

    • I’m getting that feeling more and more these days, hardly like anything…maybe it’s part of growing up, being pickier… seeking more quality, don’t know, but I find it harder to go on proper shopping sprees 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment