life, shopping

My Problem With Zara

Apparently, Abercrombie & Fitch have offered an “interesting” amount of money to one of the stars of MTV’s hit reality-TV show Jersey Shore. The point is not to endorse him with their clothing, but to request he doesn’t wear them. The “reality” the show portraits is quite similar to that of The Only Way Is Essex, showing a section of our society more worried about the size of their pecs and the strength of their tan than anything else. They seemed to be pretty obsessed with sex too, but I’ve never watched the show so can’t say much.

I can state, however, that I’m quite envious of Michael Sorrentino – the guy at the centre of this rumour – and wish Zara would pay me NOT to wear their clothes. Why? Because I fall into the same trap over and over again: I’m lured into spending my money on bad quality fashion.

I recently bought this leopard print tunic in the sales. And after one wash, see the second picture below to discover what happened.

It went through a cold wash, in the delicates programme. Result: after wearing this tunic twice, it’s ready to be used as a home-made duster.

Don’t get me wrong. I ADORE Zara, I walk into their stores and could easily walk out with absolutely everything, but time and time again I’m disappointed by the quality. Another failed purchase from them this year was my leopard print moccasins aka the most painful shoes in the world!!!! – maybe someone is trying to tell me to stay clear from said print?!

You could argue it’s what I deserve for buying cheap fashion, but Zara is far from cheap. Their designs are fabulous, their business model is very clever, but this over-priced low quality fashion is beginning to get to me. So yes, maybe they could pay me to stay away from their racks, and afford even pricier brands? Maybe a higher price tag does not mean I would own a more durable garment.

What do you think? Is good-quality fashion something of the past? Are there any resonably priced brands that don’t make you feel like you just wasted your money?

Pictures: Fashion Limbo

Standard

11 thoughts on “My Problem With Zara

  1. that’s why I purchase most of my clothes second hand. If they wear away quickly then I’ve only wasted a few bucks. I’d be much more angry if I spent $50 on a shirt the fell apart!

    Like

  2. Like you I love Zara. The designs are GREAT! I also love the designs at H&M and sometimes even the clothes sold at Forever 21. But I’ll tell you, it’s like throwing your money away. The stuff is SO cheaply made. The problem is I often can’t help myself but purchase cheap stuff anyway. My weakness is Target, mostly because I’m up there anyway buying laundry detergent and stuff. I find the T-shirts are fine for a few months and so worth the cost, but just about everything else I force myself not to buy, even if it’s cheap. I have found a few great things there like a fake fur vest I bought last year that’s held up really well, but for the most part I’m always disappointed. On the other hand, I do purchase some higher-end things at Barneys (mostly on sale) and although they’re fabulous and much better quality, just a few items and suddenly I’ve got a $750 bill. So in the end I just don’t know what’s worse!

    Like

    • Well I’m starting to think that perhaps it’s worth spending such a high amount if it means the clothes will last longer. The more experience I get from shopping the more and more I think it’s the way to go, maybe less, MUCH less clothes for more money, meaning better quality?
      Like you with Target, I just lose it with Zara, I adoooore what they do, I fall in love with their previews, what the mannequins wear in the window displays…it’s terrible, but then once I wear it a bit I wonder why did I bother in the first place.
      Thaks so much for commenting Heather xx

      Like

  3. I agree!! The only things I’ve ever bought from Zara were from the sales because their clothes certainly do not seem high quality enough to pay such a hefty price tag… but I actually don’t really pay a hefty price tag on anything, except my embroidered blouses from Mexico, which certainly weren’t that hefty, just more than I usually spend. I justify it though since they’re made from durable materials and I at least get to meet the communities that spend their time making the beautiful things by hand. I guess that’s why I became a bit obsessed with the artisan goods in Mexico while I was there, knowing I was supporting that mini economy in the small town, and their traditions. And because I couldn’t thrift haha, which I also love because you can often find high quality, older things for great bargains.

    Like

    • That’s a good point, go for thrift stores, look for better labels. I also believe that if whatever you buy is not only good, but helps the economy of a certain place, or has a good purpose behind it, it makes it more worth buying.
      Like you I’m also going for Zara more on the sales and hardly during the full-price periods.
      Thanks for commenting lovely xx

      Like

  4. That is terrible quality, I have always found Zara very good though if you take things back and complain so I would go back to the store with it. As you say Zara is not cheap and the clothes are usually much better quality than elsewhere on the high st so it is a shame when it disappoints.

    Like

    • that used to be my thing, actually, pretty lucky with clothes, and always believed that Zara was actually not bad. But for the past couple of years I heard complaints from friends and acquantainces, and now I’m suffering the problem. Maybe it’s a certain type of product that I go for and should just avoid? I must say, that my favourite shoes, the super high wedges I featured in a post recently, are from Zara and very good quality, but everything else I’ve bought has left me with a bitter aftertaste :S

      Like

  5. I think the problem is that as consumers we have fallen into a trick- prices for clothes has sky rocketed and the quality has gone down considerably. This is why I will never shop at places like Forever 21. I always wait for Zara to go on sale, and then look for fabric quality and a good price. You never get what you pay for there sadly

    Like

Leave a comment